Hell House by Richard Matheson

Can any soul survive?
Regarded as the Mount Everest of haunted houses, Belasco House has witnessed scenes of almost unimaginable horror and depravity. Two previous expeditions to investigate its secrets met with disaster, the participants destroyed by murder, suicide, or insanity. Now a new investigation has been mounted – four strangers, each with his or her own reason for daring the unknown torments and temptations of the mansion… 


Four strangers, Dr. Lionel Barrett, his wife Mrs. Edith Barrett, Florence Tanner, and Benjamin Franklin Fischer come together to investigate the most Haunted House imagined, Belasco House. The tales of what has occurred behind the walls of this chilling house never leave the grounds, as no one has been lucky enough to make it out alive. That is until one man, Mr. Fischer, is found alive after his first stay . . . now back with a new group and fresh outlook he is ready to battle the Hell House for good. As night creeps and days pass the group of visitors soon realize there is much more to the mansion than they realized. Struggling just to survive the gang finds themselves tormented, attacked, manipulated, and passed by an evil so strong it may never rest.

Matheson brought the terror in this popular haunted house sub-genre of horror. You are immediately introduced to the four main characters while being given a brief background on each. Things quickly pick up in this plot-heavy novel as it is set over the span of a few days near Christmas, the novel itself chaptered into time stamps to better follow the rein of dread. I loved how quickly this novel grabbed my attention by offering suspense from the start and supplying my desire for more until a brutally real ending. As the guests settle into their stay Matheson begins supplying the reader with horrifically brutal attacks on one of the female attendants. The brutality did not end there as the group’s stay continues, each one faces unmeasurable doom.

I don’t have many complaints about this novel, however, my main issue is that I felt I already read it or watched it a million times. The writing was well done yes, yet the story itself lacked much originality to me. I am aware this is an older novel, making it a thing of its time, but considering The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson came out around a similar time I prefer Jackson. That is just my opinion, of course, there are many who would soon disagree with me. Overall, I found this to be an interesting and enjoyable read filled with a great deal of horror-filled dread and suspense. An extremely well done haunted house sub-genre (or trope it can fall under either these days) that will leave you steering clear of Hell House.

I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a creepier classic, a well-done haunted house theme, a detailed plot, or someone new looking to check out the horror genre. There are some gruesome parts throughout that may upset some readers, dependent on if you have triggers or what they are. I’m personally not bothered by much, my limit stops at the abuse of children/animals so I often stay away from overly graphic novels including that. I can say there is neither of that but there is possession, death, murder, sexual acts & violence. If those are things you tend to not read this novel may not be for you. However, if you are like me and enjoy all things horror, this is a must-add to your TBR (To Be Read) pile. Happy Reading!

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Pages: 304

Published: 1971 (Orginal Publication)

Genre: Fiction/Horror/Paranormal/Classic/Thriller


Leave a comment