The Chain by Adrian McKinty

You just dropped off your child at the bus stop. A panicked stranger calls your phone. Your child had been kidnapped. The stranger then explains that their child has also been kidnapped, by a completely different stranger. The only way to get your child back is to kidnap another child. You are now part of THE CHAIN. (Published: 2019/Pages: 352/ Fiction-Thriller)

In this eerie, hair-raising tale McKinty dares to play on a nightmare all parents fear most, the kidnapping of their child. Rachel is your typical suburban mom with an intelligent teenage daughter name Kylie. Their lives are nothing short of ordinary, until one morning while Kylie is awaiting her school bus, a parent’s worst nightmare takes place; Kylie is kidnapped. Shortly after the kidnapping, Rachel receives a phone call that the only way she can get her daughter back is to commit another kidnapping as well, and continue what is called the chain. Desperate to save her daughter and save both their lives, Rachel embarks on a journey that will not only test her strength but her morals as well. Proving that a mother’s determination and love for their child will push limits that no one could imagine. All leading to an astonishing ending that will have readers gasping in terror. 

I’ve seen this book sitting on the shelf at Barnes and Noble for some time now, but I kept getting swept away with other books to pay it much attention. Boy was that a mistake on my part! McKinty seriously took a parent’s worst nightmare, added a twist, and turned it into a not-so unbelievable story for this time age. My attention was kept full force, wondering what in the world Rachel would do and what lengths she would take to get Kylie back. I could not help but find myself rooting for Rachel from beginning to end, holding my breath in anticipation. Kylie was also a character worth cheering for, despite all the trauma the young girl faced, she proved a force to be reckoned with throughout the whole story. The Chain was a true horror, developed by some truly twisted individuals only a brilliant writer like McKinty could conjure up and play out so vividly. This was a pure page-turner that I found troublesome to put down, needing to know just what happened next.

I was kept on the edge of my seat for the majority of the book, however, I felt that the second half fell flat in comparison to the first half of the story. The introduction was catching, the rising first half and climax were riveting, then a rather disappointing closure that was in my opinion rather predictable. This is not to say that it made the story unenjoyable, I was just hoping for a bit better closure, possibly even an open-ended one. I knew too soon who all the characters were and how they tied into what was supposed to be the mysterious, unknown chain leaders. Then completely concluded with a neat, tidy present box ending complete with a bow. I suppose I was just expecting more of an electrifying ending, one that matched better with the pace and tone of the first half. Overall, this book teased my worst fears, leading to fear of the internet and its potential more than I already do. If you are a fan of thrillers, are a parent, or just enjoy being scared of dangers you can not always see . . . then this is the next read for you. McKinty will not disappoint your need for new nightmares. 

Rating: 4 out of 5.

https://amzn.to/3e1GS2e

Click the Amazon link above for your copy now!

One thought on “The Chain by Adrian McKinty

Leave a comment