The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Alicia Berenson’s life is seemingly perfect. A famous painter married to an in-demand fashion photographer, she lives in a grand house overlooking a park in one of London’s most desirable areas. One evening, her husband, Gabriel, returns home late from work, and Alicia shoots him five times in the face and then never speaks another word. Alicia’s refusal to talk, or give any kind of explanation, turns a domestic tragedy into something far grander, a mystery that captures the public imagination an casts Alicia into notoriety. The price of her art skyrockets , and she, the silent patient, is hidden away form the tabloids and spotlight at the Grove, a secure psychiatric unit in North London. Criminal psychotherapist Theo Faber is captivated by Alicia’s story and jumps at the opportunity to work with her. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she hot her husband takes him down a path more unexpected, more terrifying than he ever imagined – a search for the truth that threatens to consume him. (Published: 2019/Pages: 323)

          Secrets, lies, affairs and a patient who will not speak.  Alicia Berenson is locked away at a local psychiatric hospital for the murder of her husband.  There is only one issue, she will not speak or as some speculate, can not speak.  Ever since the murder of her husband, Alicia has gone silent for almost 10 years.  Never uttering a word about the events that unfolded on that terrible night.  That is until a new doctor, Theo Faber, comes to work at the Grove Hospital, believing he can get Alicia to finally speak and tell the tale everyone is waiting to hear.  Alicia has a tale to tell alright, but it is one that no one was expecting to be told. With an unbelievable twist that could not be foreseen, The Silent Patient, is a debut novel that will keep you guessing until an unexpected and surprising end. 

          I really thought I had this one figured out, but boy was I wrong!  It was a twist that I was not expecting, although I was expecting a twist.  This debut novel was nothing short of a gripping page turner.  It drew me from the first page and did not let up until the very end.  I was completely captivated my Alicia and her unwillingness to speak a single word about the murder of her husband, who she was portrayed to be nothing but head over heels for.  Theo also had my full attention, as I could never quite put my finger on his motives or stance in anything.  I found both Theo and Alicia to be rather interesting and well-developed characters that truly brought the story to life.  This was an excellent plot and story line, filled with turns on every page.  Characters were likable and real, and the background in psychology seemed to be professionally researched, giving nothing short of a real feel to the whole story.  As a longtime lover of psychological thrillers this is one of my favorites to date.  It does not beat, I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid, however, it is a close second.  I dare not say too much about this gripping read, as I do not want to spoil anything for anyone.  Just know, you will have a hard time trying not to finish this one in one sitting, I know I did. If you love a good thriller, you will not want to miss out on this highly talked about debut novel.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

https://amzn.to/3a2rBvE

Don’t miss this one! Get your copy now! Just click the link above.

Leave a comment