The Shining by Stephen King

Jack Torrance’s new job at the Overlook Hotel is the perfect chance for a fresh start. As the off-season caretaker at the atmospheric old hotel, he’ll have plenty of time to spend reconnecting with his family and working on his writing. But as the harsh winter weather sets in, the idyllic location feels ever more remote . . . and more sinister. And the only one to notice the strange and terrible forces gathering around the Overlook is Danny Torrance, a uniquely gifted five-year-old. Published 1977. Fiction/Suspense/Horror. Pages 659.

The Shining is King’s third published novel following Carrie and Salem’s Lot (reviews coming soon) with a sequel published years later titled Doctor Sleep, it like some others has a movie adaption as well if interested. As much as it pains me to admit, not only did I prefer the movie adaption, this novel was not one of my King favorites despite its popularity. The novel opens introducing you to Jack Torrance, his wife Wendy Torrance and five year old son, Danny Torrance whom possesses something called ‘the shining.’ Jack is a recovering alcoholic who’s life and family are falling apart in front of his eyes due to his addiction and violent temper. Desperate to save his marriage and keep his family together he quits drinking and decides to take a job miles away from everything he knows. The job is a caretaker position at a hotel called The Overlook, Jack is responsible for upkeeping the hotel during its off-winter-season. Thus leaving him and his family in solitude until Spring when the hotel would reopen for the following season. At first everything seems wonderful and the family embraces the change believing it will be a new beginning for them all. Little did they know that something sinister lies in the secrets of this old hotel, secrets that will take the reader on a terrifying ride as they consume Jack’s mind leading him to utter madness. King leaves you with an unbelievable ending, begging for conclusion as to what happens to this family after their experience with The Overlook.

I found the beginning to be a bit slow to start but was pleasantly surprised with how fast paced it went once the climax hit. I felt the novel really focused more on Jack more-so than Danny, although Danny is the one who posses ‘The Shining’ and experiences a lot of his own torment from the sinister entities that haunt the halls. I enjoyed how King in his true style devoted a good deal of writing to explaining Jack’s backstory indulging in every detail of his life up until his current situation at the hotel. It did feel a bit dragged out in some parts, leading me to do some skimming or speed reading as I felt it did get a bit repetitive on some topics. I do wish there was a bit more about Danny and Wendy, as I truly felt the majority of the novel focused mainly on Jack Torrance himself. From understanding however, as I have not yet read it myself yet, Doctor Sleep focuses on Danny and what life was like after their experience at The Overlook. I enjoyed the supernatural aspect of the novel, but did not quite find it very ‘scary.’ The concept of Danny’s abilities are unique, but I felt it was too closely related to being psychic, just with a different name. I wouldn’t say this novel thrilled me or even frightened me in any way either, I truly found the movie to be scarier. Overall, I did enjoy the book, it was not one of my favorites from King, yet it did leave me wanting to read the sequel as I was left with a good deal of questions and curiosity.

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Get your copy today just in time for Halloween by clicking the link above!

Leave a comment